Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

New members on the University of Ontario Institute of Technology board of governors

Oshawa, Ont. - Canada's newest university appoints Garry Cubitt and Lorraine Sunstrum-Mann as chair and vice-chair of the University's board of governors, each to serve a one-year term. The board also welcomes appointed community member, Beth Wilson, and elected governors Joanna Campbell, Christa Colyer, Pierre Hinse and Manon Lemonde.

garry       lorraine













New chair, Garry Cubitt                           New vice-chair, Lorraine Sunstrum-Mann

Garry Cubitt of Oshawa has been employed by the Region of Durham since January 1974. In his current role as chief administrative officer, Cubitt is responsible for 1,700 employees who work at diverse locations in the region. He holds an Honours B.Sc. from Trent University, and a MSW from the University of Toronto.

Lorraine Sunstrum-Mann is program leader of the maternal child program at Lakeridge Health Corporation in Oshawa. Active in her profession and the community, Sunstrum-Mann is past president of the Durham Northumberland chapter of the Registered Nurses Association of Ontario, and a member of the Emergency Nurses Association of Ontario and the National Emergency Nurses Association. She holds a BA in health studies from York University, and has a MBA from Heriot Watt Business School at the University of Edinburgh.

New community member

Beth Wilson is a partner with KPMG. Her focus is servicing electronics, software and communications companies. She holds a CPA, State of Illinois, CA designation, and a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Toronto. Wilson has been appointed incoming Chair, Board of Evaluators, Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants, 2004-05. She previously served on the Durham College Board of Governors from 1996-2002.

New elected governors

Joanna Campbell, elected to the board as a representative of non-teaching staff, is administrative assistant to the deans of Manufacturing Engineering, and Energy Engineering and Nuclear Science. She previously worked as an administrative assistant with the Mount Allison Faculty Association. Campbell has a BA from the University of Guelph, and a Graduate Certificate in Education (Cert. Ed.) from the University of Leeds, England.

Dr. Christa Colyer is an associate professor in the School of Science, University of Ontario Institute of Technology. She has a B.Sc. (Hon.) from Trent University (1988), a M.Sc. from the University of Guelph (1991), and a PhD in Chemistry from Queen's University (1994). After completing a two-year NSERC Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Alberta, she joined the faculty of Wake Forest University ( Winston-Salem, NC ) as Assistant Professor of Chemistry in 1997, where she served as the Dunn-Riley Faculty Fellow from 2002-2003.

Pierre Hinse, a student in the School of Manufacturing Engineering, was elected to represent UOIT students for a one-year term. A graduate of electronics technology at Cambrian College, Hinse also taught electronics at Cambrian for six years. He has 20 years of experience in the manufacturing automation industry. He served three years on the council of the Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists.

Dr. Manon Lemonde is an associate professor in the School of Health Science. She was previously an associate professor at the School of Nursing, Laurentian University in Sudbury, where she was involved in teaching the francophone baccalaureate program. She is fluently bilingual. Lemonde has been actively involved with the Board of Accreditation of the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (CASN). She received her PhD in biomedical sciences from the Université of Montréal in May 2000.

Returning board members

Peter Bagnall, general director, customer support services, General Motors of Canada Ltd.;

Joanne Burghardt, editor-in-chief, Metroland Printing, Publishing and Distribution Ltd., Durham division;

Denise Jones, chartered accountant and partner, Hobb, Bakker, Bergin, Hill;

Gail MacKenzie, department head, student services department, Courtice Secondary School;

Mark Moorcroft, assistant crown attorney, Ministry of the Attorney General, Crown Attorney's Office;

Dr. Gary Polonsky, president, Durham College and the University of Ontario Institute of Technology;

Mike Shields, president, CAW Local 222 and the CAW/GM Intra-Corporation Council;

Dr. Phillip (Rocky) Simmons, president and CEO, EcoTec Inc., Pickering; and

Doug Wilson, lawyer, Uxbridge, Ontario

About Ontario Tech University
A modern, forwarding-thinking university, Ontario Tech advances the discovery and application of knowledge to accelerate economic growth, regional development and social innovation. We inspire and equip our students and our graduates to make a positive impact in a tech-focused world. For us, it’s not only about developing the next tech breakthrough. Understanding and integrating the social and ethical implications of technology differentiates us as university. Learn more at

Media contact
Oliver Fernandez
Communications and Marketing
Ontario Tech University
905.721.3111, ext. 2513