Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Innovative UOIT nuclear engineer lauded by Canadian Standards Association

John Froats, Associate Professor, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science (FESNS), speaking in a UOIT lecture theatre.
John Froats, Associate Professor, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science (FESNS), speaking in a UOIT lecture theatre.

One of the world’s most-recognized associations dedicated to advancing safety, sustainability and social good has tabbed a University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) researcher with its highest award of recognition.

The Canadian Standards Association (CSA) has named John Froats of the UOIT Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science (FESNS) the 2015 recipient of the John Jenkins Award for outstanding contributions to the CSA Standards Program in Canada. The award will be presented on Tuesday, June 16 at the CSA’s annual conference in Niagara Falls, Ontario.

“All of John’s faculty colleagues and friends throughout the nuclear energy community share great pride in seeing him receive this most deserved honour,” said Dr. Brent Lewis, Professor and Dean, FESNS. “John has been a leader of the CSA’s Nuclear Standards Program, which is recognized as a world-leading safety model. He promotes the highest standards in education here at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology and is also well recognized for his leadership in the nuclear industry.”

“It is an honour to receive recognition from my peers and the CSA,” said Froats, Associate Professor and Nuclear Engineer-in-Residence, FESNS. “The award really is recognition for the whole team that has worked tirelessly to make the CSA Nuclear Standards Program a true world leader.”