Skip to main content

University names two interim Vice-Presidents

University of Ontario Institute of Technology, north Oshawa location.
University of Ontario Institute of Technology, north Oshawa location.

Two distinguished academics with strong leadership experience will oversee key portfolios in the coming year at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. Robert Bailey, PhD, will serve as Interim Provost and Vice-President, Academic, while Douglas Holdway, PhD, is now Interim Vice-President, Research, Innovation and International.

Dr. Bailey joined the university in 2015 as Associate Provost, arriving from Cape Breton University in Sydney, Nova Scotia where he had been Provost and Vice-President, Academic and Professional Studies. His career includes serving as inaugural Director of the interdisciplinary Centre for Environment and Sustainability at Western University in London, Ontario.

Dr. Bailey had been the university’s Acting Provost since April after Deborah Saucier, PhD was appointed President of MacEwan University in Edmonton, Alberta.

Dr. Holdway is one of the University of Ontario Institute of Technology’s longest-serving faculty members. A marine biologist who earned his PhD at the University of Guelph in 1983, from 1986 to 2002 he was a researcher in Australia, first with the governmental Alligator Rivers Region Research Institute and later with the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology. Shortly after coming back to Canada, he joined the Faculty of Science. In 2004, he was named the university’s first-ever Canada Research Chair (CRC Tier 1, Aquatic Toxicology). In 2011, his CRC appointment was renewed for a second seven-year term. From April 2013 to June 2014, Dr. Holdway was Interim Dean of the Faculty of Science.