Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Ontario Tech recognizes employees for exemplary achievements and contributions to the university

Awards of Excellence and 10-year service awards presented to dozens of outstanding employees

Thank you for your dedication, staff awards of excellence

This past year has been like no other with the Ontario Tech campus community collectively rising to the challenge, overcoming adversity and uncertainty, to help the university succeed in these extraordinary times. On June 9, the university celebrated some of these achievements during its annual Awards of Excellence and 10-Year Service recognition virtual event.

The Awards of Excellence recognize individuals for their outstanding achievements and for their contributions in making Ontario Tech an exceptional place to work, learn and have fun.

Award categories

 Awards for individuals:

  • Ridgeback
    Recognizes a true team player or ambassador for the university. This award will go to someone who demonstrates a sense of pride in being part of the university community and contributes to making it a great place to work and study.
  • Fiercely Ontario Tech University
    Recognizes a frontline staff member who consistently strives to support a culture of service excellence. By their actions, this individual motivates and inspires the people around them to excel in service to students and/or staff and faculty at the university.

Awards for individuals or teams:

  • U Make a Mark
    Recognizes individuals or teams who have developed, revised or implemented a system, tool, process, initiative and/or program within their department, faculty or across the university which has positively impacted student success and/or the employee experience.
  • Community Collaborator
    Recognizes individuals or teams (two to 10 individuals) who help build rewarding relationships with individuals and groups in the university, local community and/or beyond.

Staff Awards of Excellence recipients:

  • Jennifer Freeman, Executive Director, Research Services.
Fiercely Ontario Tech University
  • Jarek Baginski, Manager, Student Mental Health Services.
U Make a Mark
  • Francis Arnaldo, Biosafety and Radiation Safety Officer, Office of Research Services.
  • Jackie Dupuis, Director, Risk Management, Office of the University Secretary and General Counsel.
  • Ken Bright, Director, Office of Campus Infrastructure and Sustainability.
  • Maureen Calhoun, Health and Safety Officer, Office of Health and Safety.
  • Nicola From, Program Assistant, Continuous Learning.
Community Collaborator
  • Christa Eniojukan, Head Coach, Women’s Basketball, Athletics and Recreation.


“Congratulations to the award recipients and those nominated by their peers. Your abilities and contributions are essential to the success of our students and the university. Thank you for your dedication and continued efforts to make Ontario Tech an inspirational university.”

-Dr. Steven Murphy, President and Vice-Chancellor, Ontario Tech University