Skip to main content

UOIT and Durham College collaborative Nursing faculty and students receive series of provincial awards

UOIT and Durham College faculty and students at the Registered Nurses’ Foundation of Ontario Leadership Luncheon in Toronto, Ontario.
UOIT and Durham College faculty and students at the Registered Nurses’ Foundation of Ontario Leadership Luncheon in Toronto, Ontario.

The University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) and Durham College are extending congratulations to several faculty members and students from the joint Collaborative Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BScN) and the Collaborative RPN to BScN programs for their recognition from several provincial organizations.

The awards were presented by the Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario (RNAO), the Registered Nurses’ Foundation of Ontario (RNFOO) and the Council of Ontario University Programs in Nursing (COUPN).

On April 12 the Collaborative BScN program received the prestigious RNAO Promotion in a Nursing Program Award at the RNAO Leadership Luncheon in Toronto, Ontario. This award is presented to nursing schools which have made outstanding contributions to the nursing profession in Ontario. In addition, Dr. Angela Cooper-Brathwaite, Adjunct Assistant Professor, in the Nursing Program received the RNAO’s Leadership Award in Political Action.

“This overall recognition illuminates the tremendous support and appreciation for our Nursing Program, our students, and our partners from both within UOIT and Durham College, and well beyond our shared campus” said Dr. Sue Coffey, Director, Collaborative BScN Program, FHS. “In spearheading many of these nominations, what was most apparent was the warmth and spirit of collegiality amongst faculty and students and the unqualified commitment to excellence in nursing practice and nursing education.

Several students were also honoured for their positive contribution to nursing education, including:

“On behalf of Durham College I extend my sincere congratulations to everyone – faculty, administrators and students – in the collaborative nursing programs for this wonderful recognition,” said Susan Sproul, Dean, Durham College School of Health and Community Services. “It is a true reflection of our commitment to delivering a nursing program designed to graduate professional nurses committed to excellence and innovation in assessing and meeting the nursing needs of society as well as the dedication of our students to acquiring the knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary to practise as safe and competent nurses.”

The Collaborative BScN program also salutes community partner Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Services for receiving the 2013 COUPN Agency Recognition Award. Letters of support from Dr. Ellen Vogel, Dean, FHS and Dr. Wendy Stanyon, Professor with the Collaborative BScN program and a long-time research and practice collaborator, were submitted to COUPN in support of the Ontario Shores nomination.