Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Canadian Nuclear Society presenting two national awards to UOIT

Dr. Anthony Waker, Professor, UOIT Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science
Dr. Anthony Waker, Professor, UOIT Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science

Two of the Canadian Nuclear Society’s (CNS) top awards for 2015 will honour a University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) researcher and a graduate student.

  • Dr. Anthony Waker, Professor, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science (FESNS) is the recipient of the CNS Education and Communication Award for significant efforts in improving the understanding of nuclear science and technology among educators, students and the public. Professor Waker is also the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada / University Network of Excellence in Nuclear Engineering (NSERC/UNENE) Industrial Research Chair in Health Physics and Environmental Safety.

Previous UOIT recipients of this award include Dr. Ed Waller (2013) and Dr. Igor Pioro (2011).

  • Nuclear Engineering PhD candidate Eugene Saltanov will receive the CNS R.E. Jervis Award for excellence in research and development carried out by a full-time graduate student in nuclear engineering. The award consists of a $1,000 bursary. Mr. Saltanov is supervised by FESNS faculty members Dr. Igor Pioro and Dr. Glenn Harvel.

“These prestigious awards from the Canadian Nuclear Society culminate an outstanding year for the Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science,” said Dr. Brent Lewis, FESNS Dean. “This high-level recognition by the nuclear industry and the CNS underscores the quality of the University of Ontario Institute of Technology’s research experts as well as the excellence of our students and graduate programs.”

Both awards will be presented in early June at the 35th annual CNS national conference in Saint John, New Brunswick.