Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

UOIT congratulates its application-based scholarship winners

From left: 2015 entrance scholarship winners Happy Inibhunu, Aylina Dhanji, Tyler Beadle and Kelsey Moore.
From left: 2015 entrance scholarship winners Happy Inibhunu, Aylina Dhanji, Tyler Beadle and Kelsey Moore.

Each year, seven outstanding students at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) are awarded the university’s most prestigious entrance scholarships. The UOIT entrance scholarship program recognizes first-year students for exceptional achievements in academics, leadership and community involvement throughout their high school career.

UOIT’s major entrance scholarships:

  • Chancellor’s Scholarship - one valued at $36,000 ($9,000 each year for four years).
  • President’s Scholarship - two valued at $30,000 ($7,500 each year for four years).
  • Founder’s Scholarship - two valued at $24,000 ($6,000 each year for four years).
  • FIRST Robotics Canada (FRC) Scholarship - one valued at $12,000 ($3,000 each year for four years).
  • Global Leadership Award (GLA) - one valued at $72,000 ($18,000 each year for four years).

Happy Inibhunu’s dedication to ensuring the well-being of others and her outstanding academic performance earned her this year’s Chancellor’s Scholarship. The Biological Science – Life Sciences student from Whitby, Ontario is excited about the opportunities that lie ahead. “Winning this award clearly shows that loving what you do and working hard does pay off at the end,” Inibhunu said. “In all the activities I enrolled in at school and in my community, I constantly challenged myself and always tried to lend a helping hand in academics, sports, clubs and volunteering.”

Aylina Dhanji of Whitby, Ontario (Legal Studies) and Nanaimo B.C.’s Kelsey Moore (Forensic Science) each received the Founder’s Scholarship. Both students made remarkable contributions to their school and achieved great academic success.

“This award has lifted a huge amount of stress off the shoulders of me and my parents,” said Moore, noting that the award will allow her to continue to do her best throughout her university career.

St. Thomas, Ontario’s Tyler Beadle (Electrical Engineering) is the recipient of the FIRST Robotics Canada (FRC) Scholarship, which is awarded to a student who demonstrates leadership and excellence, and who has also participated on a FRC team during high school. “This award means the world to me,” said Beadle. “The FRC Scholarship will allow me to accomplish my goals by giving me financial leeway throughout university; I will have more time to focus on school and will spend less time balancing a part-time job and my Engineering workload.”

Toronto, Ontario’s Helen Frampton (Nursing) and Kate Giroux of Port Hope, Ontario (Nursing) received the President’s Scholarship. “I selected UOIT because it felt like more than just a university,” said Giroux, noting that the vibrant student life at UOIT ensures a well-rounded university experience. “When I toured the campus for the first time, I got a sense of home.”

“Canada is a world leader when it comes to the quality of education and UOIT provides a unique learning experience,” added Aditya Kant (Mechanical Engineering), from Patna, India, the recipient of the Global Leadership Award. “The university’s amazing atmosphere is the factor that attracted me the most.”

All scholarships were well-earned and the university wishes the recipients all the best in their studies at UOIT.

Award recipients:






High School

Chancellor’s Scholarship

Happy Inibhunu

Faculty of Science

Biological Science – Life Sciences

Whitby, Ontario

All Saints Catholic Secondary School

President’s Scholarship

Helen Frampton

Faculty of Health Sciences


Toronto, Ontario

Malvern Collegiate Institute

President’s Scholarship

Kate Giroux

Faculty of Health Sciences


Port Hope, Ontario

St. Mary Secondary

Founder’s Scholarship

Aylina Dhanji

Faculty of Social Science and Humanities

Legal Studies

Whitby, Ontario

Sinclair Secondary School

Founder’s Scholarship

Kelsey Moore

Faculty of Science

Forensic Science

Nanaimo, British Columbia

Wellington Secondary

FIRST Robotics Scholarship

Tyler Beadle

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

Electrical Engineering

St. Thomas, Ontario

Parkside Collegiate Institute

Global Leadership Award

Aditya Kant

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

Mechanical Engineering

Patna, India

Delhi Model Public School