Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Campus community celebrates teaching excellence

Rupinder Brar, PhD, Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning addresses the audience at this year's Teaching Award Ceremony. (March 28, 2018)
Rupinder Brar, PhD, Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning addresses the audience at this year's Teaching Award Ceremony. (March 28, 2018)

Each year the University of Ontario Institute of Technology honours its top educators with a number of awards.

On March 28 the university’s reinvented Teaching Award Ceremony brought together more than 100 faculty, staff, students and community members to recognize teaching excellence and to unveil six new awards.

New for the 2017-2018 year is the involvement of students in the nomination of instructors across campus. Not only was student input a requirement for many awards, but the new Student Choice Award encouraged students to nominate their professors directly through a 280-character ‘tweetable’ nomination. Many students attended the ceremony to cheer on all of the nominees.

Congratulations to all nominees and award recipients.

“The new Teaching Award Ceremony and the new awards are part of a larger effort to celebrate and showcase teaching excellence at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology. The awards reflect the value we put on effective teaching at our university. The scope of the expanded awards capture the different types of teaching, and innovation in teaching demonstrated by our instructors.”
-Rupinder Brar, PhD, Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning

*denotes award recipient

NEW: Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Jean-Paul Desaulniers, Associate Professor, Faculty of Science (FSci)*
  • Manon Lemonde, Associate Professor, Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS)
  • Shahryar Rahnamayan, Associate Professor, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (FEAS)

NEW: Early Career Teaching Award

  • Robert Balogh, Assistant Professor, FHS*
  • Nasim Moallemi, Academic Associate, FEAS

Teaching Assistant Excellence Award

  • Ahmed Abdelrahman, Teaching Assistant, FEAS
  • Joshua Good, Teaching Assistant, FHS
  • Sancgeetha Kulaseharan, Teaching Assistant, FSci
  • June Melnychuk, Teaching Assistant, Faculty of Business and Information Technology (FBIT)*
  • Ololade Sanusi, Teaching Assistant, FEAS*
  • Martin Tuzim, Teaching Assistant, FSci
  • Andrew Varley, Teaching Assistant, FSci
Note: This award is unchanged from previous years’ awards. Due to the postponement of the 2016-2017 awards, two awards were presented this year.

NEW: Tim McTiernan Student Mentorship Award

  • Rachit Desai, student, FHS
  • Brenda Gamble, Associate Dean, FHS
  • Theeben Jegatheesan, Academic Advisor, FEAS*
  • Sharon Lauricella, Associate Professor, Faculty of Social Science and Humanities (FSSH)
  • Kelcieya Ratnarajah, student, FSSH

NEW: Teaching Innovation Award

  • Shilpa Dogra, Associate Professor, FHS*
  • Jordan Harel, Associate Teaching Professor, FSSH
  • Valeri Kapoustine, Associate Teaching Professor, FSci
  • Dan Walters, Practicum Co-ordinator, FSSH

NEW: Student Choice Awards

Students nominated more than 80 university faculty members. Check the Teaching and Learning Centre website for a list of all nominees.

  • Joseph MacMillan, Associate Teaching Professor, FSci (winner, class smaller than 150 students)
  • Amin Ibrahim, Associate Teaching Professor, FBIT (winner, class larger than 150 students)