Skip to main content

University’s 18,000th degree and five honorary doctorates highlight 2018 Convocation

The University of Ontario Institute of Technology's 2018 Convocation ceremonies will take place June 7 and 8 at the Tribute Communities Centre.
The University of Ontario Institute of Technology's 2018 Convocation ceremonies will take place June 7 and 8 at the Tribute Communities Centre.

Family and friends will cheer on more than 2,000 new graduates as the University of Ontario Institute of Technology celebrates the Class of 2018 during four ceremonies on Thursday, June 7 and Friday, June 8.

Recently installed President Steven Murphy, PhD, will preside over his first Convocation to congratulate bachelor’s, master’s and PhD degree recipients as they cross the stage at Oshawa’s Tribute Communities Centre.

In addition to conferring its 18,000th degree, the university will recognize its first program graduates in:

  • Forensic Psychology (Master of Science)
  • Political Science (Bachelor of Arts)
  • New major in Entrepreneurship (Bachelor of Commerce)

Each year at Convocation, the university proudly confers honorary degrees to recognize outstanding individuals who inspire others and embody the university’s vision and mission. Recipients will have made an outstanding intellectual and/or scholarly contribution in their chosen field of academic eminence, or provided outstanding service and/or contributions to greater society through non-academic achievements and/or public service.

In 2018, the university will present honorary degrees to (biographies hyperlinked):

  • Mr. Kenneth Knox, former Deputy Minister of Energy, Science and Technology and former Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Food, for his visionary contributions to Ontario agriculture, dedication to public service, and his extensive leadership in Canadian science, technology and innovation.
  • Dr. Maria Klawe, President of Harvey Mudd College in Claremont, California, for her distinguished scholarship and leadership as an academic administrator, her championing of women in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, and her significant research contributions in the fields of mathematics and computer science.
  • Mr. Craig Kielburger and Mr. Marc Kielburger, Co-founders of the international development and youth empowerment organization WE (formerly Free the Children), for their distinguished achievements as humanitarians, social entrepreneurs, authors and activists for the rights of children.
  • The Honourable Frank Iacobucci, retired Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, for his distinguished career, his contribution to Canada’s Indigenous Peoples and his dedication to promoting mental wellness in society.

All ceremonies can be viewed live online at The 2018 webcast recordings will be posted on in late June.

2018 Convocation schedule

Thursday, June 7 – 9:30 a.m.

  • Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science
  • Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Doctor of Laws (honoris causa) to Mr. Kenneth Knox

Thursday, June 7 – 2 p.m.

  • Faculty of Business and Information Technology
  • Faculty of Science
  • Doctor of Science (honoris causa) to Dr. Maria Klawe

Friday, June 8 – 9:30 a.m.

  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Social Science and Humanities
  • Doctor of Laws (honoris causa) to Mr. Craig Kielburger and Mr. Marc Kielburger

Friday, June 8 – 2 p.m.

  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Doctor of Laws (honoris causa) to the Honourable Frank Iacobucci

Tribute Communities Centre
99 Athol Street East
Oshawa, Ontario

Media contact
Bryan Oliver
Communications and Marketing
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
905.721.8668 ext. 6709
289.928.3653 (cell)



About Ontario Tech University
A modern, forwarding-thinking university, Ontario Tech advances the discovery and application of knowledge to accelerate economic growth, regional development and social innovation. We inspire and equip our students and our graduates to make a positive impact in a tech-focused world. For us, it’s not only about developing the next tech breakthrough. Understanding and integrating the social and ethical implications of technology differentiates us as university. Learn more at