Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

2021-2022 Ontario Tech University major scholarship recipients

Ontario Tech University 2021-2022 Founder's Scholarship recipient Hana Haytaoglu (Trenton, Ontario). Note: Available photos of other award recipients can be found below in the gallery section of the story.
Ontario Tech University 2021-2022 Founder's Scholarship recipient Hana Haytaoglu (Trenton, Ontario). Note: Available photos of other award recipients can be found below in the gallery section of the story.

Each year, seven outstanding incoming students are awarded to Ontario Tech University’s most prestigious entrance scholarships. The university’s scholarship program recognizes secondary school students for exceptional achievements in academics, leadership and community involvement throughout their high school career.

Major entrance scholarships

  • Chancellor’s Scholarship: One valued at $36,000 ($9,000 a year x four years)
  • President’s Scholarship: Two valued at $30,000 each ($7,500 a year x four years)
  • Founder’s Scholarship: Two valued at $24,000 each ($6,000 a year x four years)
  • FIRST Robotics Canada Scholarship: One valued at $12,000 ($3,000 a year x four years)
  • Global Leadership Award: One valued at $72,000 ($18,000 a year x four years)

These scholarships enable students’ continued success and guide them to be exceptional in their futures. All award recipients work hard and these prestigious awards recognize their success.

This year’s Chancellor’s Scholarship recipient is Jemma Tam (Biological Science) from Whitchurch-Stouffville. One of the contributing factors in Jemma’s decision to come to Ontario Tech was the tight-knit and welcoming community that our university has. Jemma is very passionate about volunteering and contributed an immense number of hours volunteering in her community and high school. This scholarship will allow Jemma to continue pursuing her passions: “Receiving this scholarship allows me to continue with volunteering, extracurriculars and spending more time focusing on maintaining good grades. This scholarship brings me closer to reaching my goal of getting into medical school.”

This year’s President’s Scholarship recipients are William Blake Pezzarello (Biological Science) and Khadeeja Fakhridin (Nursing), both from Whitby.

William chose Ontario Tech University for its smaller class sizes and for the variety of activities and clubs the university has to offer, and he’s confident the scholarship will help him succeed: “I will be able to work less at my part-time job and focus more on my studies. I will be able to devote more time to clubs and extra-curricular activities at Ontario Tech while also getting to work with highly qualified professors and researchers.”

Khadeeja chose Ontario Tech because she felt drawn to the supportive, warm environment created by the recruitment team and faculty members she’s met so far. “Receiving the President’s Scholarship will enable me to focus better on my academic goals and my involvement in the community through extracurricular and volunteering opportunities that fulfill my passions,” says Khadeeja.

One of this year’s Founder’s Scholarship recipients is Hana Haytaoglu (Forensic Science) from Trenton. Hana’s choice to attend Ontario Tech University was made based off of the impressive facilities, welcoming professor, and the diverse selection of clubs and societies. “Not only will this award inspire me to continue to do my best, but it will also help me focus on my studies and involvement in the community,” says Hana.

Hans Dizon (Business Commerce) from Oshawa, is another recipient of the Founder’s Scholarship. Hans chose Ontario Tech University for its “top-notch facilities, exceptional programs and large variety of clubs and societies.” He says winning this award has inspired him to continue trying his best, and will help him focus on his studies and involvement in the community.

Rounding out this year’s domestic awards is FIRST Robotics Canada Scholarship recipient, Chantel Scott (Mechatronics Engineering) from Scarborough. Ontario Tech University appealed to Chantel because of its focus on inclusivity, the accommodating culture that creates a positive environment for learning, and the engineering programs. “Being the recipient of an award that recognizes and exemplifies my passion and interest in robotics is deeply meaningful to me. This award will help me accomplish my goals at Ontario Tech, as it will financially aid me in funding my education and allow me to pursue my degree,” says Chantel.

The international Global Leadership Award recipient is Akshat Gupta (Mechanical Engineering) from New Delhi, India. Akshat was drawn to the campus for its community feel, that is achieved through inclusivity and equitability. According to Akshat, receiving this award is “a validation of all the effort put towards my community and is a recognition of my contribution to society—this award will help me on the journey to achieving my goals.”

For information on applicant criteria for each award, visit the scholarships web page.


list of scholarship recipients






High School

Chancellor’s Scholarship

Jemma Tam

Faculty of Science

Biological Science -        Life Science


Bill Hogarth Secondary School

President’s Scholarship

William Pezzarello

Faculty of Science

Biological Science -        Life Science


Father Leo J. Austin Catholic Secondary School

President’s Scholarship

Khadeeja Fakhridin

Faculty of Health Sciences



Sinclair Secondary School

Founder’s Scholarship

Hana Haytaoglu

Faculty of Science

Forensic Science


East Northumberland Secondary School

Founder’s Scholarship

Hans Dizon

Faculty of Business and Information Technology



Monsignor Paul Dwyer Catholic High School

FIRST Robotics Scholarship

Chantel Scott

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

Mechatronics Engineering


Mary Ward Catholic Secondary School

Global Leadership Award

Akshat Gupta

Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science

Mechanical Engineering - Comprehensive

New Delhi, India

The Shri Ram School, Moulsari