Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Ontario Tech buildings closed Monday, January 17; virtual instruction to proceed as scheduled

Winter weather at 61 Charles Street Building, Ontario Tech University downtown Oshawa campus location

Due to inclement weather, all Ontario Tech University buildings are closed on Monday, January 17.

Virtual classes will proceed as scheduled.

Scheduled on-campus classes will not take place. Students should not come to campus. Some on-campus classes have opted to switch to virtual instruction for today. Please contact your professor for details/confirm with your instructor.

All employees (except for those deemed essential) must work from home.

Please stay safe. 

Helpful internal links:

Helpful external links: