Skip to main content

Ontario Tech announces new and reappointed members of its Board of Governors

Shawenjigewining Hall at Ontario Tech University's north Oshawa campus location.

Ontario Tech University announces the newest members on its Board of Governors. These individuals were selected for their professional experiences, skills, leadership and community involvement.

Five external members joined the Board in 2024:

  • Nolan Bederman, Founder and Managing Partner, Bederman Capital Corp.
  • Paul Burns, CEO, SkipTheDishes
  • Neeraj Grotra, Vice-President, Enterprise Technology, Gildan
  • Laura Money, Executive Vice-President, Chief Information and Technology Innovation Officer, Sun Life
  • Susanna Zagar, Chief Executive Officer, Ontario Energy Board

In addition, the following internal board members representing constituencies within the Ontario Tech campus community were elected in March; their terms commence in September:

  • Administrative Staff Governor: Matthew Mackenzie, Director, Government Relations (re-elected)
  • Teaching Staff Governor: Dr. Ahmad Barari, Professor, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science (re-elected)
  • Student Governor: Peter Marchut, Mechanical Engineering student entering fourth year

Reappointments and new roles:

  • The Board of Governors also reappointed Laura Elliott as Chair, and welcomed Eric Agius to his new role as Vice-Chair, both for one-year terms.

The university thanks all of its outgoing governors for their dedicated service.