Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Announcing new members of Ontario Tech’s Board of Governors

Michael Rencheck (left) and Dwight Thompson will serve three-year terms on the university's Board of Governors.
Michael Rencheck (left) and Dwight Thompson will serve three-year terms on the university's Board of Governors.

Ontario Tech University proudly announces the addition of two new external members to its Board of Governors.

  • Michael Rencheck, President and Chief Executive Officer of Bruce Power, has held several senior roles over his 35-year career, including serving as the Deputy Chief Operating Officer for AREVA Group, overseeing its extensive global capital portfolio of nuclear and renewable projects. The National Safety Council recognized Michael for his leadership and personal commitment to worker safety and health and he was designated by the U.S. Department of Energy as a STEM ambassador. In 2020, he was named the CEO of the Year by the Ontario Chamber of Commerce as part of the Ontario Business Achievement Awards and was named 2022 Leader of the Year by Electricity Human Resources Canada for championing Bruce Power’s commitment to equitable practices, strategies, and programs to benefit underrepresented communities.
  • Dwight Thompson is a globally recognized leader in portfolio and project management at technology and telecommunications organizations, including TELUS and Shaw Communications. He has extensive understanding in the areas of technology infrastructure, supply chains, and data governance. Dwight graduated from Ontario Tech in 2011 with a Bachelor of Commerce degree.

Mr. Rencheck and Mr. Thompson will serve three-year terms on the university’s Board.

See the full list of current board members, and learn more about the role of the Board of Governors.