Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

News archives



MDC hosting INNOVATION 2013: The Next Wave of Digital Media

To help business professionals, managers and entrepreneurs prepare for this next wave and understand its implications, the Management Development Centre (MDC) at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) is hosting INNOVATION 2013, a one-day conference on Friday, June 14, from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.


UOIT celebrates Nursing Week

In honour of nurses across the country and to celebrate their own nursing programs, the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) and Durham College celebrated the 28th National Nursing week from May 10 to 16.

Dr. Brent Lewis, Dean, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science.

UOIT’s newest Dean receives national award

Nominated by his peers in the Canada’s nuclear community, Dr. Brent Lewis, Dean, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science (FESNS) at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) has won the 2013 Outstanding Contribution Award from the Canadian Nuclear Society (CNS) and the Canadian Nuclear Association (CNA).

2013 President's Award of Excellence in Student Leadership graduate student recipient Lokendra Ramotar with UOIT President Tim McTiernan. Below: Undergraduate student recipient Christine Dabrowski with President McTiernan.  Top image: Christine Dabrowski and Olivia Petrie, Assistant Vice-President, Student Life.

UOIT celebrates student leadership

Family, friends and award nominators clapped and cheered for 67 UOIT students at the inaugural Leadership and Student Life Awards Ceremony.

UOIT Faculty of Education summer camps

Research skills for Faculty of Education Graduate Students - Register now for the Adobe Connect workshop

An online version of the Campus Libraries’ Graduate Research Skills workshop (part of the Graduate Professional Skills Program series) is being offered specifically for students in the Faculty of Education. The prerequisite and the Subject-specific workshops will be combined into one session. The workshop will take place in the Education Library’s Adobe Connect General Room.

Cool experiments and fun activities made for a great day of discovery for young scientists at the 2013 Science Rendezvous at UOIT.

Science Rendezvous at UOIT: An annual community success

Hundreds of aspiring young scientists and their parents took in a full day of free, hands-on activities on May 11 as the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) hosted Science Rendezvous for the sixth year.

Dr. Colin Carrie, Oshawa MP addresses participants at the 2013 UOIT Graduate Student Research Conference.

Oshawa MP salutes UOIT graduate student research showcase

UOIT’s Graduate Student Council (GSC) has also been thriving throughout the university’s formative years, annually organizing the Graduate Student Research Conference (GSRC). The title of this year’s conference was Evolution through Innovation: Innovative Research Shaping the Future.

From left: Stacey Sainte-Marie, Forensic Science Laboratory Technician; Kimberly Nugent, Senior Lecturer and Laboratory Co-ordinator, Forensic Science; and Dr. Helene LeBlanc, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Science, and Undergraduate Program Director, Forensic Science. (top image: Forensic Science students and faculty, Science Building Atrium, April 29 2013).

UOIT Faculty of Science stages Forensic Science Research Day

Every year, undergraduates are given the opportunity to present their research thesis projects before an audience of peers, faculty, law enforcement, forensic scientists and other professionals at Forensic Science Research Day.

Testing inside the climatic wind tunnel of UOIT's Automotive Centre of Excellence.

Durham Region Transit announces service amendments to U-Pass program

Durham Region Transit (DRT) has unveiled a series of service amendments to the One Fare Anywhere system that forms a key component of the Universal Transit Pass (U-Pass) program for full-time students at the University of Ontario Institute of Technology (UOIT) and Durham College. The DRT changes which may or may not impact students’ U-Pass usage will take effect on Saturday, June 29, 2013.

Testing inside the climatic wind tunnel of UOIT's Automotive Centre of Excellence.

Register now for the Library Research Skills workshop for graduate students

Come to the Library Research Skills for Graduate Students workshop (part of the Graduate Professional Skills program series) to learn how to develop your research question, understand the types of information sources needed to find answers and create effective search strategies for the appropriate online library resources.

OUA Woman of Influence award recipient Vanessa Johnstone at UOIT Ridgebacks women's hockey game outdoors at Ivor Wynne Stadium in Hamilton, Ontario in January 2012.

UOIT nuclear engineer receives national distinction from peers

UOIT proudly announces Dr. Igor Pioro, Professor, Associate Dean and Director of the Graduate Program, Faculty of Energy Systems and Nuclear Science (FESNS), has been inducted by the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC) as a Fellow.